Day 9, The Host, Chapters 45-49

July 26, 2008 at 3:18 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Day 9: July 25th. Discuss chapters 45-49 (pp. 457-505)
As “homework” to read between 7/25 and 7/28 read 506 – 558 (Chapters 50 – 54)

Succeeded

Wanderer/Melanie has successfully stolen the much-needed medicine and is on her way back home with Jared. They arrive; Jamie’s healed. The end.

Encircled.

Discussion about the raid. Should she go on other missions? Is Wanderer more valuable than Melanie?

Employed

More missions. Hope for the human race. Hosts don’t want their natural offspring to be implanted with souls.

Detained

Were you nervous they’d get caught? Is it surprising that Souls aren’t more suspicious?

Interrogated

Wes is dead. Again she’s upset. I don’t know that I can even recall who Wes is in distinction to anyone else. Her Seeker is at fault. She is captured. Wanderer/Melanie is sent to talk with her.

Not much left, just two more discussion days. I’m trying to figure out if the lack of discussion is a) because people are finished with the book and have stopped thinking about it b) people are behind in their reading c) people have given up on the book because they didn’t like it d) people are just super-busy and this book is the last thing on their minds.

July has been an odd month for me. I’ve hardly had a minute to call my own. And I have found myself impatient with a good bit of what I’ve been reading lately–though not with everything I’ve read. I wonder if other people are experiencing this semi-burn-out as well.

Anyway, I’ve finished The Host now. I’ll try to retain it long enough to finish up next Wednesday.

In other news, The Accidental Time Machine discussion will be on my google group. Want to join in on that or any other book???? Email me for an invite. If you’ve already joined the google group, I would LOVE it if you’d invite people you think might be interested. A little advertising on blogs wouldn’t hurt either!!!

My email addy is blaney1129 AT gmail DOT com

Blogged with the Flock Browser
2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. The fact that the Souls didn’t want their children to be implanted really surprised me. It seems almost hypocritical. I was also really surprised at how trusting and naive the Souls are. That was pretty unbelievable.

    My reasons for not posting are somewhere between A and D. I read The Host already, and I haven’t unpacked it yet from moving. I’ve also been getting ready for the new school year. I’m just not as into discussing this book as I thought I would be.

  2. “I’m just not as into discussing this book as I thought I would be” I’m right there with you!!! I didn’t know that I’d have so little to say either.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

