Day Zero, The Host, Stephenie Meyer, First Impressions

July 2, 2008 at 8:23 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 10 Comments


The Host
By Stephenie Meyer
May 2008
http://www.thehostnovel.com/
http://www.stepheniemeyer.com/thehost.html

Melanie Stryder refuses to fade away.

Our world has been invaded by an unseen enemy. Humans become hosts for these invaders, their minds taken over while their bodies remain intact and continue their lives apparently unchanged. Most of humanity has succumbed.

When Melanie, one of the few remaining “wild” humans is captured, she is certain it is her end. Wanderer, the invading “soul” who has been given Melanie’s body, was warned about the challenges of living inside a human: the overwhelming emotions, the glut of senses, the too vivid memories. But there was one difficulty Wanderer didn’t expect: the former tenant of her body refusing to relinquish possession of her mind.

Wanderer probes Melanie’s thoughts, hoping to discover the whereabouts of the remaining human resistance. Instead, Melanie fills Wanderer’s mind with visions of the man Melanie loves—Jared, a human who still lives in hiding. Unable to separate herself from her body’s desires, Wanderer begins to yearn for a man she has been tasked with exposing. When outside forces make Wanderer and Melanie unwilling allies, they set off on a dangerous and uncertain search for the man they both love.

“Stephenie Meyer is an amazing phenomenon—out of the brightness of her mind and spirit comes the illuminated darkness of her stories. For no matter how much pain her characters suffer, Meyer infuses the tales with light and hope.” —Orson Scott Card, author of the Ender Saga

“A fantastic, inventive, thoughtful, and powerful novel. The Host will keep you reading well into the wee hours of night, and keep you thinking, deeply, hauntingly, well after the final word.” —Ridley Pearson, author of Killer Weekend

First Impressions of THE HOST

What drew you to pick up THE HOST?
The fact that it’s by Stephenie Meyer?
The cover?
The premise?
The blurbs?
The book trailer?
Or word-of-mouth?

I picked up THE HOST because it was by Stephenie Meyer author of Twilight, New Moon, and Eclipse.
I’d like to think that if it wasn’t by Meyer, I’d have still been drawn to it by the cover and the premise, but Meyer’s name sure helped me get to it quickly!

First paragraph of Prologue:

The Healer’s name was Fords Deep Waters.
Because he was a soul, by nature he was all things good: compassionate, patient, honest, virtuous, and full of love. Anxiety was an unusual emotion for Fords Deep Waters.

First sentence of Chapter One:

I knew it would begin with the end, and the end would look like death to these eyes. I had been warned.

Share whatever “first impressions” you may have about this book.

And as an introductory post, I just want to let everyone know that this ‘discussion’ will be very relaxed. You can post your thoughts in the comments of the day’s discussion (at any time). Or you can post your thoughts on your own blog if you have one. But if you do, please leave a link so that everyone can follow and read what you have to say! Either is fine. If you want to read ahead, you may. If you need more time, don’t let anyone make you feel rushed. You can go at your own pace. Post a day late, post a week late, just post when you can!

Blogged with the Flock Browser

Tags: ,

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. What drew you to pick up THE HOST? I’d read her Twilight series and loved those. I was curious about a non-Twilight book.
    The fact that it’s by Stephenie Meyer? Yes
    The cover? I am probably the only person who will feel this way, but I didn’t care for the cover.
    The premise? The blurbs? Had no clue. I haven’t had time to read much about it and since I’d planned on reading the book, I didn’t want to read any reviews.
    The book trailer? I didn’t see any.
    Or word-of-mouth? Everyone I have chatted with has loved this book.

  2. ‘Kay Becky, I’m here. 🙂 I have to admit, that I’ve been a bit put off by Stephenie Meyer after Eclipse, and wasn’t really planning on reading any more… still, I have to admit that I was curious. I read the jacket flap copy (bit long, but interesting) at Borders when it first came out, thought that it sounded interesting, but not enough to make me want to read it RIGHT THEN. But, when a friend offered to lend me her copy, I figured why not. If I didn’t have to buy it or wait on a hold line for it, then sure, I’ll read it.

    That was six weeks ago. It’s been sitting on my nightstand, and I still haven’t had much of a desire to read it. So, I’m using this as an “excuse” of sorts, to give Meyer another chance.

  3. – What drew you to pick up The Host? I’ve read the three books in the Twilight series and enjoy them. While I don’t think it’s the best story/writing ever, it is a fun easy read and I enjoy that.

    I was a little hesitant about the whole “body snatching” host plot so I was glad when I saw this book group and it gave me a reason to read the book.

    I found an audio copy at the library so I will be “listening” to the book instead of reading it which may be a good thing or not.

    I haven’t read any bad reviews of the book yet so that’s a good thing!

  4. I had heard and read a lot about Meyer’s Twilight series. I haven’t read those yet, and was planning to this year. Then The Host came out and I was reading a lot of good reviews of it. And the cover, I really love the cover. This cover would have gotten by attention in a store or library, and the blurbs were good. So, when it came up on schedule for this group, I decided to read this first and then do the Twilight series.

  5. i love the Twilight books, so that’s the main reason i picked up The Host. my sister went to Denver for a Stephenie Meyer book signing, and she brought back a copy of the book for my 17yo daughter. she read it last weekend during the 24-hour read-a-thon. now it’s my turn!

  6. I have tried Twilight as in tried I meant I tried reading the first chapter in a book store and it didn’t grab me. I still have wonder what all the hoopla is about so I saw that you were having this reading group and decided to try it. I like that on the site it says science fiction for people who don’t like science fiction and that is me. I don’t like science fiction usually but I love fantasy.

  7. I have to admit that I picked up The Host purely on the Stephenie Meyer factor and because I wanted to be able to blog about it (is that a wrong reason). I was worried because of the whole science fiction thing because I just don’t do science fiction. But it worked thank goodness. I like the cover okay but I love the spine.

  8. Like everyone else, I picked up The Host because I was so addicted to the Twilight saga. I read a few reviews before I started the book, so I knew the basic premise and that it was supposed to be really different. I’ve actually already finished the book (I read it the week it came out), so I’ll try not to give anything away. I will say that I was shocked – SHOCKED – at how big the book was. I really wasn’t expecting it to be so long, or so heavy! I also wasn’t really thrilled with the cover, at least not until I got further into the story.

  9. What drew me to the host? Becky’s recommendation and hearing so many people who loved Twilight. I am not a big Science Fiction reader but loved Life As We Knew It, so maybe I am missing out on a genre that I would like!

    The cover- eerie…the glowing circle around the eye is different. I for one would not want a picture taken this close to my eye without a great deal of touch ups!! 🙂

    So far I am having a little bit of difficulty getting into the book, but I am expecting that to change!

  10. Darcie, you’re not alone. Many participants have had difficulty getting “hooked.” I don’t know that any have given up completely (they haven’t confessed) but many have mentioned it’s a really slow starter.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

