Day Nine, Worthing Saga, Chapters 19-21

June 30, 2008 at 8:37 pm | Posted in The Worthing Saga | 1 Comment

The Worthing Saga
by Orson Scott Card
Day Nine
Chapters 19-21

Welcome to the last day of discussion. Well, what did you think? I hope it kept your interest. I hope it got you thinking. I’ve got so many things I want to say, but I suppose I should start at the beginning.

We’re to the last three chapters, the last three short stories. These are set on the planet of Worthing. The stories focus on Jason Worthing’s descendants. I found them to be so VERY different than what was presented earlier in the novel. The introduction did say that he didn’t use the original stories as reference points. That they are contradictory to the novelization, the revision, of his original ideas. Did you find that interesting or fascinating in any way? Were there things you liked better in the stories than in the novel? Or vice versa?

Did you have a favorite among the short stories–the nine short stories? Do you feel that including these stories weakened or strengthened the book? I personally found it interesting to see how these characters, these stories, these concepts evolved over time. The stories came first, but they’re presented last. Did you like the progression, the evolution? Do you feel that the stories can be read independently from the novel? How about vice versa? What do the stories add, if anything, to your feelings about the book as a whole?

If this is your first introduction to Orson Scott Card, would you–based on this book–be interested in reading more of his work? What did you like or not like about Card’s writing style? What things stood out to you? Notice any strengths, any weaknesses?

If this is NOT your first introduction, if you’ve read other Card books, how do you compare The Worthing Saga with the other novels you have read? How would you rank it in comparison?

Would you recommend The Worthing Saga to others?

Blogged with the Flock Browser
1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I really enjoyed this book. I appreciate this group because I probably would not have read this book otherwise. I plan to reread this though. I feel like I need to, to fully appreciate the relationships and how everything is woven together. This was my first book by Orson Scott Card, but I will definitely read more. I think I’ll try Enders Game next. I enjoyed both the novel and the short stories. I think both parts can stand alone, but the short stories really added a lot for me. Breaking the Game was my favorite of the short stories.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

