Want to narrow July down?

May 19, 2008 at 7:40 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 4 Comments

June’s book will be THE WORTHING SAGA by Orson Scott Card

August’s book will be THE ACCIDENTAL TIME MACHINE by Joe Haldeman

But July is still a mystery to me. I’ve got a few ideas of books I’d like to possibly cover with the group at some point in time. But I don’t have a strong favorite by any means. So while I can’t promise that I’d use any of your suggestions for the month of July, I do promise to keep them in mind and add them to the long list of possibilities at some point in time. Of course, you might very well HAVE the book that I’d be inspired to choose for July.

So here is my list. Please, please, please comment with your own suggestions OR email me privately laney_po AT yahoo DOT com with your suggestions.

Also let me know what you think of this list. If there are any that would be “duds” for you that you have zero interest in ever ever reading…I’d like to know that.

//www.stepheniemeyer.com/img/thehostcover.jpg” cannot be displayed, because it contains errors.

The Host by Stephenie Meyer

I loved this book. I read it last week, but I’m already trying to find time to reread it. You can read my review here. The only difficulty would be that it’s not in paperback yet. It just released in May–May 6th–and libraries while they may have a copy (or two or three) might have a long waiting list.

City of Ember by Jeanne DuPrau

I loved this book. I’ve read it of course. If you’ve already read it too, then there is no need to reread it for the fun of it unless there is a clear majority that want to read this one. One bonus would be that the movie version is coming this October. And if you haven’t read it yet, then it would be good incentive to do it now πŸ™‚

The Host and City of Ember both would qualify for the End of the World (As WE Know It) challenge I’m hosting.

Rash by Pete Hautman. This is under-appreciated (I feel) novel that I just adore. It’s

set in the future in the United Safer States of America. It’s just a great book. It is available in paperback as well.Β  But you can’t make someone want to read a book

no matter how much you personally love it.

Surviving Antarctica: Reality TV 2083 by Andrea White is another fabulous book. I don’t have a copy at home–I don’t own it–but the library does have more than a few copies since this one was nominated for a state award. Read my review.

Unwind by Neal Shusterman. This one is quite incredible. Definitely one that makes you think…I called it in my review…dystopian fiction at its best πŸ™‚

I had mentioned Frankenstein by Mary Shelley earlier. If there is interest in reading it, I’m willing to choose it. But I don’t want to “force” a classic on anybody. For one, some people associate classics with torture. And two, there is a good possibility–although one can never assume–that you’ve had to read it at some point in either high school or college. This is a book that took about three or four readings for me to fall madly in love with. But I don’t want to presume that you would be just as crazy-about-this monster as I am. So if you haven’t read it, you should. And if you want to read it with me, let me know.

So suggest away. Be brutally honest if you must πŸ™‚ But let me know if any of these are deals or duds. πŸ™‚

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. The only one I wouldn’t pick is Frankenstein but probably because I read it at school and that always kind of ruined books for me! So maybe I would re-read it if you picked it.
    My favourite would be The Host or City of Ember as I liked the sound of them both from your reviews. The Host as first choice just because it’s Stephanie Meyer and I love her!

  2. I like The Host…I’ve been meaning to read just anything by Stephanie Myer because I haven’t read any of her books…though I’m sure everyone else in the world but me has read Twilight, so that would probably be a bad pick.

    The other idea that I thought of was doing a non-fic book, but honestly I have no idea what that would be as I don’t read much non-fic at all but would like to read more :p I loved Debi’s review of The Translator and have been wanting to read that, but I don’t know if anyone else would be interested in that…or if you wanted to keep the book club to just fiction.

  3. Chris, I was thinking of doing Twilight or The Host. But went with The Host because I thought more people would have not read it. Then again, most Twilight fans aren’t opposed to rereading it (the books) ‘in celebration’ of the fourth book coming out in August. So I’ll keep an open mind. If we can get another brave soul or so to say they want to read Twilight we’ll schedule it in πŸ˜‰

    I’m not opposed to the idea of doing nonfiction. My familiarity is only with YA nonfiction though. I don’t hit the adult shelves much because I find the YA more accessible generally speaking. I don’t know if other folks would be interested, but I’ve got quite a few YA nonfiction that I think would be good choices. James Cross Giblin has a very fascinating biography of Adolph Hitler. I bet that *could* get a lot of discussion going. It’s just so thought provoking to think of all the what-ifs and if onlys. I can’t think of the Adolph Hitler title right now. I’m sure it’s got his name in it…but others I can think of are THE VOICE THAT CHALLENGED A NATION by Russell Freedman and GOOD BROTHER, BAD BROTHER by Giblin, I believe, I’m 90% sure anyway. It’s about the Booth brothers. I’ve typically found that some nf books are surprisingly interesting. You really can’t judge a book by the cover.

    I don’t have any experience with so-called literary nonfiction.

    I haven’t read Debi’s review yet. (I know, I know, shame on me.) If–and here’s the big condition with any of the books I select–the book is available at my local library, then it might be a possibility.

  4. I’m an official ambassador for the upcoming movie City of Ember! I saw that you enjoyed the book! I’m coming to you first because I have some exclusive first-look pictures that you might enjoy and share with your blog readers.

    Email me if you want them, I’d love to share them with you.

    Bill Murray looks great as Mayor Cole! (by the way, haha)

    Would love to be in touch!
    Best,
    Amber Baynor
    Official Ambassador
    amber.cityofember.ambassador@gmail.com


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

