Day Zero of Life As We Knew It

May 8, 2008 at 7:34 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 5 Comments

What are your impressions of the book cover?   I’m giving the American edition first, then the UK edition…

https://i1.wp.com/www.galaxy.bedfordshire.gov.uk/webingres/bedfordshire/vlib/0.rl_images/lifeasweknewit.jpg Knowing that it is oh-so-easy to judge a book by its cover, would you pick this one up based on the cover and/or the title alone?

What about the jacket description? “When a meteor hits the moon and knocks it closer in orbit to the earth, nothing will ever be the same. Worldwide tidal waves. Earthquakes. Volcanic eruptions. And that’s just the beginning.”

First sentence: Lisa is pregnant.

Based on the above alone–the title, the jacket description, the cover–what are your expectations? Is this something that would appeal to you? Or is it only the fact that you’ve read others thoughts on this novel that you’re here???

I read this one in November of 2006, about a month after its release (October 2006). I didn’t read it because I’d heard others talking about it. I hadn’t read any reviews–professional or blogger–but when I saw this one sitting face-out, cover out, on the library shelf, I KNEW I had to take it home with me. So it was cover first, then the jacket description. I did read it all in one sitting.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Personally, I was attracted to the cover. I don’t usually buy a book based on it’s cover, but I have refused to purchase one because of that reason.

    I think I like the UK version better than the US. I don’t have any expectations. If I read anything about the book, I’ve forgotten about it. (lol)

    Judging by the book, I am thinking UFO…maybe? I try not to think too much…lol…but enjoy the read before me.

  2. I’m a bad judge — I read the book on a recommendation. I requested it at the library and barely glanced at the cover. The UK cover seems more gripping because there is a person on it.

  3. I am a judge the book by the cover type of person – not to say it is the only factor for reading, but it is a big factor. I am not sure if I should admit this or not! 🙂

    I like both covers!! I haven’t been influenced by any recommendations, but probably wouldn’t have read it – if not for the book club. I would have read it if I heard some great recommendations for it though.

    Until this year I didn’t really read the Young Adult genre (except for Harry Potter) and boy do I feel like I have been missing out! Plus I love being able to recommend books to my friend’s kids!! Judging by Harry Potter I didn’t read it until I got a recommendation from my Aunt, by then book 3 was out. If that tells you anything thing!

  4. I would have bought it for the cover. I prefer the US cover, I like that there are no people on it and also the image of the moon is more appealing.

    The blurb would have hooked me I love dystopia!

  5. The cover was what originally drew me to this book. Then I read the description and knew I would probably enjoy the book. I love the US cover with the moon looming large over the one little house, like they’re the last people on earth.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

