Books I’m considering

February 17, 2008 at 12:45 am | Posted in Polls & Questions | 3 Comments
Tags:

I thought I would start a list of books I was considering choosing for future group reads. If you have thoughts about any of these titles and want to express an interest–one way or another–please, please comment. Want to suggest a title of your own? Comment. I can’t promise that your suggestion will be chosen. But I can promise to consider it carefully.

Have thoughts about what kinds of books you want to read as a group? Share your ideas. Fiction? Nonfiction? Classics? Adult? Young Adult? Children’s? Genre specific–science fiction? fantasy? romance? etc…

Becky’s List

Life As We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer

Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson

City of Ember by Jeanne DuPrau

Looking for Alaska by John Green

Rash by Pete Hautman

A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith

Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery

The Cage by Ruth Minsky Sender

Diary of A Young Girl by Anne Frank

Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell

Persuasion by Jane Austen

Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

Enchantment by Orson Scott Card

Ender’s Shadow by Orson Scott Card

Worthing Saga by Orson Scott Card

The Giver by Lois Lowry

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I suggest “all the little animals” by Walker Hamilton. Every kid should read a book about an obsessed revolutionary type. Sure it’s got the outsider thing but it’s got a love of animals and weak unprotected things woven into it…plus that sense of menace. -C

  2. I’ll have to join in. Thanks again.

  3. Just an interesting note. I was at a conference with Scott Card last weekend. At a signing we were both at, someone asked him what his favorite book was that he’d written. He instantly answered, “Enchanted.”

    Several of the authors were surprised, because we usually just say that our favorite is whatever we are currently working on. It’s kind of like asking, “Which is your favorite child?”

    But he said, “I get asked that so much that I just finally decided Enchanted is my favorite. Of course I hope to write something better in the future.”

    I was impressed.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

